Everything happens for a reason

2 Sep

I’m back today, see? I’m trying. Yesterday a good friend of mine, after being put through the ringer in a series of interviews, was told “all positions have been filled.” I felt really bad for her because just as she was uber confident about having this job in the bag, so was I. It came as a complete surprise for me. I was try telling her comforting words to ease her disappointment and frustation, but even though that’s happened to all of us at some time or another in our lives I wasn’t really sharing her true emotions. I could see why she felt that way, but I felt empathy not sympathy.

Let me clarify before I start sounding like an a** that doesn’t care about her friend’s misfurtunes. The reason why I wasn’t sympathetic is that everytime something bad happens I tend to think of the “positive” outcome or the destiny/fate/life plan that I am to fulfill. I hate to call it positive thinking because I consider myself a pesimist, but I feel that life has a way of sorting everything out for us.

So I ended up telling my friend that everything happens for a reason, there is probably something better out there waiting for her to show up and make a move. Smile.

Leave a Reply

